I’m My Monster’s Scourge

monster-426994__340

A switch flips inside me;
My dark passenger is awake.
A hideous monster he is;
Holding the reins of my mind.

I feel a burning deep inside.
The fire of anger spews out of me,
And spreads its flares all over;
Devouring everything in my vicinity.

I feel him traversing my mind,
Sowing seeds of disappointment.
What I see through my inner eyes,
Is his reflection on my blood.

He builds gates of hell inside me,
Eating slowly away at my sanity.
I have to subdue him with strength,
To halt the onset of depression.

As his needles prick my heart,
A sadness comes over me.
I dig deep to find happy tidings,
And scare him away to a nook.

The monster never goes away,
But hides looking for his day.
Life’s battles are within us;
I’m my monster’s scourge.

I’m taking part in the Write Tribe ProBlogger Challenge. The prompt for Day 7 is ‘Monster’.

writetribeprobloggerparticipationbadge

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

23 thoughts on “I’m My Monster’s Scourge

  1. Indeed depression is such! I have battled it for 8 years i know how it feels and can relate to what you expressed though this poem!
    It feels good to see people talking about depression which helps in reducing stigma around it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have also battled stages of depression at several points of my life. I talk a lot about the topic, trying to help people to open up, comforting them, empathizing with them and such. Thank you for your comment and am happy in a good way that you could relate to the thoughts expressed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That monster can very well be depression, sneaking in unexpected, definitely dark. And it never really goes away for long either, no matter how much we scare it away. You expressed that inner monster so well in verse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

