My companion

20170806_085446

This is a tough prompt to write on – not just because of the commonality of resources you could identify with others but because the word resource is so wide in meaning and interpretation. So, after a great deal of thinking, I chose to focus on a resource which not many are likely to write about. It’s also a resource which has been my constant companion for the last several years, so much that I cannot live without it literally.

I was 8 when my life changed completely. I realized that I couldn’t hear things like others and that upset me a lot. From a normal kid, I was suddenly a hard-of-hearing kid. The hard-of-hearing deteriorated into borderline deafness over the last couple of decades and I started using hearing aids a few years ago to make some sense of the sounds around me.

The hearing aids I wear now has been with me for the past couple of years. Before that, it used to be another version. Nevertheless, these hearing aids have helped me immensely, I must admit. Where I was reticent when people asked me what was inside my ears, I’ve become accepting and tell them about my hearing aids. Some understand, some don’t. But that’s the way it is.

There’s actually a lot I want to write on this, but I respect the brevity of this post. I’ll be sure to write more in a future post.

I am taking part in The Write Tribe Festival of Words #6. The theme for Day 2 is ‘Share about a resource/s you have or use’

