#AtoZChallenge – Letter G – Gowri

G

The temple was less crowded than usual. I was happy because I wanted to pray to my heart’s contentment. As I entered the sanctum sanctorum, there were even fewer people which made me happier.

As I prepared to pay my obeisance to the Lord, my eyes fell upon a woman in her late twenties. She was securing a small wooden crib to one of the pillars. Only then did I pay attention to the several wooden cribs on the pillars on both sides. I felt embarrassed not being able to understand what this meant but I was also very curious.

I asked one of the temple officials about this. “That is Gowri. She comes every month with her husband, offers the santhana gopala pooja and ties the wooden cribs to the pillars. She has been childless for long and this is her offering to the Lord to bless her with a child,” said the official. He sounded sad when he finished.

I was stunned. As I glanced at Gowri, I saw a wave of emotions welling up inside her. My heart felt a strange, different pull.

Today, I did not pray for myself or my family. I prayed for Gowri.

Written as part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge – http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

4 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge – Letter G – Gowri

Leave a Reply

