Discovering the joy of reading Harry Potter

Several years back, my friends in college and a few of my junior friends were quite excited and over the moon. They were talking about a book and being an avid reader, I could not put my curiosity behind an invisibility cloak and had to ask them which book they were getting so excited about. Some of these people hardly read anything save for their college/school books and that too, only when exams were around the corner. So when they told me that the book was about Harry Potter and his magical world, I was not in the least interested. There were plenty of reasons too.

It was a time in my life when reading took a backseat as I was pursuing a professional course and had to, unwillingly, sacrifice a lot of reading. Secondly, the moment I heard magic associated with Harry Potter, it put me off for some reason. I had shut myself off completely from Harry Potter and his adventures as J K Rowling released book after book over the course of the next 10 years or so. Once I regained my reading habits sometime in 2003, I naturally did not feel inclined to read Harry Potter and turned my attention to several other books.

Time has a crazy way of bringing some things back to you. Sometime earlier this year, me and my good friend Vinay were participating in an A-Z blogging challenge when I found that he was writing on the theme of Harry Potter. Since I love reading his posts, I was sort of dismayed in my inability to comment on them as I had no knowledge or information about what he was writing. I found myself completely at sea and did confide this to him. His response kind of surprised me as well as gave me some food for thought – why don’t I start reading Harry Potter now? My chief concerns were on my age (I’m not that old, no need to sneer!) and my ability to relate to an 11 year old boy’s magical adventures. Vinay put me at ease and he did send me the first book.

I started reading Harry Potter. The boy who lived, Privet Drive, the Dursleys, Hagrid, Hogwarts, Professor Dumbledore, Ron Weasley and the others in the Weasley family, Hermione Granger, Seamus Finnigan, Dean Thomas, Professor McGonagall, Professor Snape, the Patil sisters and several other characters and places made me realize what I had missed twenty years back. Of course, who can forget Lord Voldemort!

Better late than never, they say. I’m now into the fourth book and just love reading the adventures. Thanks to my nice friend, I discovered the joy of reading Harry Potter! An amazing ride so far and am sure it will continue to be so for the remaining adventures.

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

4 thoughts on “Discovering the joy of reading Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

