Promise

Somewhere along the way, I missed a turn;
Of the path of promise I made myself.
The eyes are strained, the words turn dry;
Trying too hard to regain the way.
It’s not dreadful, I keep repeating,
Keep watching, I cheer myself up;
Taking a deep breath now and then.
I’ll find the way by the end of the day,
And keep the promise I made myself.
As the years get on and the mind is clear,
The eyes turn calm and the words gush out;
The hope returns and the path beckons.
Somewhere along the way, I found the turn;
Of the path of promise I made myself.

Written as part of BARaThon Challenge, Day 7

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

4 thoughts on “Promise

    1. Thanks, Vinay. The opening lines of this poem happen to be my favorite lines among all that I have written. I don’t why I’m not able to sustain that tempo of the opening lines into the remainder of the poems, but it’s something that I’m working on.

      Like

      1. No no no no no! It’s not that you can’t push it into the remainder of the poems. The poetry is quite lovely, without a doubt. But the lines that stand out are the opening few. That’s a spotlight on those lines, doesn’t mean the rest aren’t lit at all. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

