The three pappadam obsession

Over the last few weeks, I have been on an eating binge – no, don’t get me the wrong way there. What I have been binging on is pappadam* – at least for dinner that is. Don’t ask me why this sudden obsession. I’m struggling for an answer. I have been content with one pappadam and even without one I would happily partake my dinner. But not anymore. I want three pappadams, not more and certainly not less.

I am now deep into this abyss of pappadams, perceiving very well that the wife’s eyes are on me. She is on tenterhooks, really. Not because she doesn’t get to each as much pappadams as I do, but because she believes my cholesterol levels will shoot up at the rate I’m devouring it. And what do I do when she looks at me like that? I just shrug my shoulders and enjoy it. Holding it, it feels like the moon in my hands – with those mountains, craters and the oily sea of tranquility spread across the round contours! I enjoy each and every bite not to mention the happy sensation the crunchy sound gives me! Oh, not to forget – I love smashing it to smithereens and as well as taking slow nibbles.

Unfortunately for my wife and fortunately for me, the height of contentment is when I finish my third one. You can never really stop having it, I would say. It comes as no surprise then that it is universally liked by a six month old to a nonagenarian. How could something flat, round and without any apparent oomph be transformed into a ballooned up, attractive eatable one would jump at the sight of? Appearances are certainly deceptive! It’s supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!!

I don’t know what I will do with my new-found obsession for three pappadams. I really yearn that it continues to tempt me. And I hope I yield to that temptation without really being worried about stuff that goes on inside my body. The worst thing that could happen is for this phase to pass. Oh, it would make my wife happy but not me or the pappadams. Well, one can’t have it all, eh? Sigh!

*pappadam – a circle-shaped food brought about by frying or dry-heating dough made from black gram flour

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

6 thoughts on “The three pappadam obsession

Leave a Reply

