#AtoZChallenge – Letter J – Jayanth

J

When this challenge started, I had decided that the letter J would be for my younger brother. There wasn’t really any competition from any other topics for this letter unlike the other letters where I’ve had to think hard before taking a decision on what to write on.

Me and my brother are three years apart. He is a Gemini as opposed to the Taurean that I am. The only similarity we have is that we were both born in the month of May. Take anything else for comparison and you’ll find that we are as different as chalk and cheese.

The fondest memory I have of our childhood is one where one day, we were halfway on our way to school and suddenly we come to know from other school-mates that there would be no class that day. We were so thrilled that we played our hearts out as soon as we reached home, breaking only for lunch and the evening tea. That day is still so clear in my mind even after so many years. There were some really superb days like those. One rainy season, we had come across a tortoise whom we immediately befriended and decide to make our pet. Unfortunately, in spite of all the care we took, the tortoise was not to be seen after a couple of days. Needless to say, we both were shattered.

I remember we used to fight a lot and gave a real torrid time to our parents. Looking back, I realize we were just being brothers. We always had our differences of opinion but I think it never entered a realm of imposing one’s ideas on the other. We each had our own space and the other was careful no to violate that.

Until school ended, it was all fun. When he started pursuing his bachelors in engineering, I think I missed him a lot as he used to study out of town. Things were never really the same again. He is now chasing his dreams at Oxford searching/researching life outside Earth as well as other astrophysics interests. I was really proud to see this in the University of Oxford website:

Capture

He tries to come home whenever time and money permit. I know he is delighted when he sees my kids and that he would actually spend more time with them if he just had the time at his disposal. Seeing them play, I am sometimes taken back to our own childhood and those good old days. I really hope we get to be those delighted schoolkids celebrating a no-school day again!

Written as part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge – http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

10 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge – Letter J – Jayanth

  1. Stopping by on the A to Z blogging challenge. I have very fond memories of my brother and our childhood too. We played a lot together, the 2 youngest in a large family, we seemed to be inseparable. When we got to high school we started to fight a lot – argue and just not get along. In young adulthood we got closer for a while and I was very fond of his wife. He is now divorced and the distance has come again which is sad. We do live 2000 kms apart in different states of Australia. I am delighted to see the bonds that have formed between my kids, and the enjoyment they get out of each other’s company I hope they all stay close

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

