#366days366posts – Day 60 – And the Oscar goes to……

What a night it was! Recognition, redemption and glory all on display on a night when Chris Rock’s one-liners were as much the topic of talk as the awards. Readers will remember that I had attempted to predict the winners of the awards last week. Now that the results are out, let us see how my predictions went. I will list the categories with the winner in bold green and my prediction (if different) in bold black.

Best Picture
The Big Short
Bridge of Spies
Brooklyn
Mad Max: Fury Road
Martian
The Revenant
Room
Spotlight

Best Director
Adam McKay (The Big Short)
George Miller (Mad Max: Fury Road)
Alejandro Inarritu (The Revenant)
Lenny Abrahamson (Room)
Tom McCarthy (Spotlight)

Best Actor
Bryan Cranston (Trumbo)
Matt Damon (The Martian)
Leonardo DiCaprio (The Revenant)
Michael Fassbender (Steve Jobs)
Eddie Redmayne (The Danish Girl)

Best Actress
Cate Blanchett (Carol)
Brie Larson (Room)
Jennifer Lawrence (Joy)
Charlotte Rampling (45 years)
Saoirse Ronan (Brooklyn)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Christian Bale (The Big Short)
Tom Hardy (The Revenant)
Mark Ruffalo (Spotlight)
Mark Rylance (Bridge of Spies)
Sylvester Stallone (Creed)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Jennifer Jason Leigh (The Hateful Eight)
Rooney Mara (Carol)
Rachel McAdams (Spotlight)
Alicia Vikander (The Danish Girl)
Kate Winslet (Steve Jobs)

Best Original Screenplay
Matt Charman, Joel & Ethan Coen (Bridge of Spies)
Alex Garland (Ex Machina)
Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley (Inside Out)
Tom McCarthy, Josh Singer (Spotlight)
Andrea Berloff, Jonathan Herman, S Leigh Savidge, Alan Wenkus (Straight Outta Compton)

Best Visual Effects
Ex Machina
Mad Max: Fury Road
The Revenant
Star Wars: The Force Awakens
The Martian

This means I got 3 categories out of 8 correct which translates to 37.5%. I think this is the lowest success rate for me in the past 5-6 years.

It was quite gratifying to see Leonardo DiCaprio finally covet the Oscars for the first time. His performance in ‘The Revenant’ wasn’t his best according to me but he has been recognized for the hardwork that he has put in. Brie Larson won hands down – there really was no opposition for her as far as the Best Actress category was concerned. Alejandro Inarritu is the dream director now – back-to-back Oscars for him!

However, I was disappointed to see Rooney Mara lose out on the Best Supporting Actress yet again. Maybe, like DiCaprio her time will come some soon. ‘Spotlight’ over ‘Room’ for Best Picture was probably very, very close. ‘Mad Max’ winning six awards was way beyond even my wildest imagination.

I look forward to the next Oscars. Hope my predictions will be more accurate next time. I have a point to prove, don’t I? 🙂

Author:

I'm an avid reader and writer. Reading gets me a feeling of understanding the world through different perspectives and writing helps me outline my thoughts from the cobwebs that the mind has trapped it in!

2 thoughts on “#366days366posts – Day 60 – And the Oscar goes to……

Leave a Reply

